St. Ann's Corner of Harm Reduction
SACHR has been the most client centered program I know of that works with men and women who use drugs.
-Dennis deLeon
President
Latino Commission on AIDS
Staff and Board

Home > About Us > Staff and Board

SACHR Staff

Joyce Rivera
Founder and Executive Director
jrivera@sachr.org

A National Science Foundation Fellow from 1981 to 1984, Joyce has over 25 years working in program development and social services delivery. As a consultant and grant writer, her expertise in HIV prevention and harm reduction has made her a local and national leader in the field of AIDS and drugs. She is a founding member of the National Harm Reduction Coalition (HRC), the North American Syringe Exchange Network (NASEN), and the Harm Reduction Care Network of New York (HRCNNY). Joyce frequently presents and conducts training on drug policy, harm reduction, women, communities of color, and social justice. She has chaired the boards of HRCNNY and the Latino Commission on AIDS. Joyce holds a bachelor of science degree in health administration with a specialization in healthcare planning and a master’s in comparative political science.

Bart Majoor
Deputy and Clinical Director
bmajoor@sachr.org

A clinical psychologist and psychotherapist, Bart Majoor brings more than 30 years of experience in the field of harm reduction, drug treatment and HIV prevention in the Netherlands, serving as the Director of the Department of Methodology and Training of the National Institute on Alcohol and Drugs, and since 1995 in the US as Deputy & Clinical Director of SACHR. As a consultant and trainer for several organizations in Europe and the United States, he shares his expertise in a wide range of subjects, including drug policy and AIDS, worker burnout, and harm reduction as drugtreatment modality. Bart served as an appointed member on the NYC & NYS Prevention Planning Groups, where he chaired the organization's Substance Use Committees.

Ivette Melendez, MSW
Program Manager Counseling Services
imelendez@sachr.org

Lucie Schwartz, LMSW
Licensed Social Worker / Mental Health Services
lschwartz@sachr.org

Wanda Arroyo
Office Manager
warroyo@sachr.org

Milagros Velez
Risk Assessment Counselor
mvelez@sachr.org

Martin Guzman
SEP Coordinator
mguzman@sachr.org

Jennifer Villafuerte
Data Quality Control
jvillafuerte@sachr.org

Mirta Roman
Hepatitis Services & Health Care Coordination
mroman@sachr.org

Larry Suriel
Bookkeeper
lsuriel@sachr.org

Minett Ramos
Peer Recruiter / Acupuncture
mramos@sachr.org

Ruby Grannum
Syringe Access Programs
rgrannum@sachr.org

Toni Smith
Syringe Access Programs
tsmith@sachr.org

Lourdes Correa
Syringe Access Programs
lcorrea@sachr.org

Delores Lopez
Receptionist
dlopez@sachr.org

Maria Rodriguez
Soup Kitchen

Angel Sanchez
Janitor

Jonathan Braver
Fiscal Consultant


Board Members

Nathan Riley
Columnist, Gay City News
Staff, New York City Council, Ret.
New York State Department of Law, Ret.
Board Chair

 

Marisa Toni Gallo
Co-Owner
Tagine Dining Gallery


David Hamond

 

Joyce Rivera
Ex Officio

 

Raul Russi
CEO

Acacia Network, Inc.


Jose Morales, Jr.,
Board Chair, Emeritus (deceased)
 

Info@sachr.org | ph 718 585-5544 | fx 718 585-8314 | 310 Walton Avenue, Bronx, NY 10451