718 585-5544 info@sachr.org

Our dedicated staff and board include a diverse group of experts in the field of harm reduction.

Joyce Rivera 
Founder and Executive Director 
jrivera@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 101

A National Science Foundation Fellow from 1981 to 1984, Joyce has over 35 years of experience working in program development and social services delivery. As a consultant and grant writer, her expertise in HIV prevention and harm reduction has made her a local and national leader in the field of AIDS and drugs.

She is a founding member of the National Harm Reduction Coalition (HRC), the North American Syringe Exchange Network (NASEN), and the Harm Reduction Care Network of New York (HRCNNY). Joyce frequently presents and conducts training on drug policy, harm reduction, women, communities of color, and social justice. She has chaired the boards of HRCNNY and the Latino Commission on AIDS. Joyce holds a bachelor of science degree in health administration with a specialization in healthcare planning and a master’s in comparative political science. She is also ABD at the Public Policy program at City University of New York.

Bart Majoor 
Deputy and Clinical Director 
bmajoor@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 102

A clinical psychologist and psychotherapist, Bart Majoor brings more than 30 years of experience in the field of harm reduction, drug treatment and HIV prevention in the Netherlands, serving as the Director of the Department of Methodology and Training of the National Institute on Alcohol and Drugs.

 Since 1995, he has served in the US as Deputy & Clinical Director of SACHR. As a consultant and trainer for several organizations in Europe and the United States, he shares his expertise in a wide range of subjects, including drug policy and AIDS, worker burnout, and harm reduction as drug treatment modality. Bart served as an appointed member on the NYC & NYS Prevention Planning Groups, where he chaired the organization’s Substance Use Committees.

Our Board

Toni Marisa Gallo Member taginedinging@gmail.com 

Raul Russi Secretary rrussi@acacianetwork.org

Fr. Luis Barrios, Ph.D., FACFEI Chair lbarrios@jjay.cuny.edu 

 

Jonathan Giftos, MD Member giftos@gmail.com

Michael T. Baldwin, Esq. Treasurer mtbaldwin@gmail.com

Joyce Rivera Ex Officio jrivera@sachr.org

Our Staff

Alvaro Arias Chief Financial Officer aarias@sachr.org Ext. 104

Van Asher HRS/SAP Program Manager vasher@sachr.org Ext. 105

Thomas Blazsek PrEP and PEP Case Manager  tblazsek@sachr.org Ext. 119

Alexis Del Rio-Cumba Care Coordinator adelrio-cumba@sachr.org 

Angelica Diaz EBO Specialist adiaz@sachr.org Ext. 111

Maximilian Eyle Digital Media Consultant meyle@sachr.org 

Stephanie Ferguson Part Time Data Entry Clerk sferguson@sachr.org Ext. 110

Anaisa Garcia Front Desk Reception agarcia@sachr.org Ext. 109

Nelson Gonzalez SAP/HRS Naloxone & Program Coordinator ngonzalez@sachr.org Ext. 150

Rebecca Halff, LMSW Social Worker/Behavioral Health Clinician rhalff@sachr.org Ext. 116

Chariee Ice HRS Case Manager cice@sachr.org Ext. 121

Anna Loschiavo Part Time Data Entry Clerk aloschiavo@sachr.org Ext. 110

Ed Manchess CADI Program Manager emanchess@sachr.org Ext. 133

Dayonel Mejilla IT Consultant dmejia@dnfsolutions.com 

David Melendez Data & Quality Assurance Manager dmelendez@sachr.org Ext. 106

Krystal Montalvo WSU Manager kmontalvo@sachr.org Ext. 151

Mario Novillo Chef mnovilla@sachr.org Ext. 133

Jerry Otero Syringe Access Program Case Manager jotero@sachr.org 

Carmen Pagan WSU Peer cpagan@sachr.org Ext. 118

Rebecca Peeler The Sanctuary / Acupuncture rpeeler@sachr.org Ext. 115

Nando Pinto Ryan White Program Manager npinto@sachr.org Ext. 117

Jennifer Price Youth Injection Drug User (YIDU) Coordinator jprice@sachr.org Ext. 112

John Rivera HRS Case Manager jcrivera@sachr.org Ext. 103

Bruce Smith The Sanctuary / Massage Therapy bsmith@sachr.org Ext. 115

Johnny Velazco Custodian rrodriguez@sachr.org Ext. 131

Maceo Wilson Bathroom Monitor mwilson@sachr.org 

Shantrell Winslow Mental Health Counseling Intern swinslow@sachr.org Ext. 123

Santos Zelaya Mental Health Counseling Intern szelaya@sachr.org Ext. 123