Our dedicated staff and board include a diverse group of experts in the field of harm reduction.

Joyce Rivera 
Founder and Chief Executive Officer 
jrivera@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 1001

A National Science Foundation Fellow from 1981 to 1984, Joyce has over 35 years of experience working in program development and social services delivery. As a consultant and grant writer, her expertise in HIV prevention and harm reduction has made her a local and national leader in the field of AIDS and drugs.

She is a founding member of the National Harm Reduction Coalition (HRC), the North American Syringe Exchange Network (NASEN), and the Harm Reduction Care Network of New York (HRCNNY). Joyce frequently presents and conducts training on drug policy, harm reduction, women, communities of color, and social justice. She has chaired the boards of HRCNNY and the Latino Commission on AIDS. Joyce holds a bachelor of science degree in health administration with a specialization in healthcare planning and a master’s in comparative political science. She is also ABD at the Public Policy program at City University of New York.

Bart Majoor 
Deputy and Clinical Director 
bmajoor@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 1002

A clinical psychologist and psychotherapist, Bart Majoor brings more than 30 years of experience in the field of harm reduction, drug treatment and HIV prevention in the Netherlands, serving as the Director of the Department of Methodology and Training of the National Institute on Alcohol and Drugs.

 Since 1995, he has served in the US as Deputy & Clinical Director of SACHR. As a consultant and trainer for several organizations in Europe and the United States, he shares his expertise in a wide range of subjects, including drug policy and AIDS, worker burnout, and harm reduction as drug treatment modality. Bart served as an appointed member on the NYC & NYS Prevention Planning Groups, where he chaired the organization’s Substance Use Committees.

Click or tap the toggles below for more information:

Our Board

Fr. Luis Barrios, Ph.D., FACFEI Chair lbarrios@jjay.cuny.edu

Michael T. Baldwin, Esq. Treasurer mtbaldwin@gmail.com

Joyce Rivera Ex Officio jrivera@sachr.org

Hector Diaz Member hdiaz@acacianetwork.org

Full Staff Directory

Roxanne Alicea Peer ralicea@sachr.org

Alvaro Arias Chief Financial Officer aarias@sachr.org Ext. 1003

Walter Bosque Acupuncturist wbosque@sachr.org Ext. 1031

Brianne Carson Front Desk Reception bcarson@sachr.org Ext. 1000

Lourdes Correa CHOW lcorrea@sachr.org

Ric Curtis Evaluator rcurtis@sachr.org

Stephanie Ferguson Data Entry Clerk sferguson@sachr.org Ext. 1024

Anaisa Garcia Harm Reduction Specialist agarcia@sachr.org Ext. 1016

Robert Gillard SORT Team Member rgillard@sachr.org

Francisco Gonzalez Nutrition Coordinator fgonzalez@sachr.org Ext. 1007

Chariee Ice HRS Case Manager cice@sachr.org Ext. 1020

Nickoletta Katsigiannis Compliance Officer nkatsigiannis@sachr.org Ext. 1004

Dina Karieh WSU Harm Reduction Specialist dkharieh@sachr.org Ext. 1021

Brent Latino Peer blatino@sachr.org

Stav Levy, LCSW, SIFI Behavioral Clinical Services Manager slevy@sachr.org Ext. 1008

José Martinez SORT Team Member jmartinez@sachr.org

Kyla Medina SORT Coordinator kmedina@sachr.org Ext. 1014

Dayonel Mejia IT Consultant dmejia@dnfsolutions.com

Krystal Montalvo Centralized Services Manager kmontalvo@sachr.org Ext. 1019

Marilyn Mota Agency Tester mmota@sachr.org Ext. 1012

Maria Nogueira HRS Specialist mnogueira@sachr.org Ext. 1026

Jerry Otero, MA Drug User Health Hub Manager jotero@sachr.org Ext. 1015

Carmen Pagan WSU Program Peer cpagan@sachr.org Ext. 1010

Yilania Jerez Office Manager yjerez@sachr.org Ext. 1006

Rebecca Peeler The Sanctuary/Acupuncturist rpeeler@sachr.org Ext. 1031

Nando Pinto Ryan White Program Manager npinto@sachr.org Ext. 1030

Lipi Roy, MD/MPH Consultant MD lroy@sachr.org

John C. Rivera Syringe Access Program/Naloxone Program jcrivera@sachr.org Ext. 1025

Ruben Rivera Bathroom Monitor rrivera@sachr.org Ext. 1033

Maria Salvi Data Entry Coordinator msalvi@sachr.org Ext. 1036

Jason Sharp Peer jsharp@sachr.org

Mariela Traverso Bathroom Monitor mtraverso@sachr.org Ext. 1033

Anamarie Toscano Kitchen Assistant atoscano@sachr.org Ext. 1035

Daisy Valentine RW Care Coordinator dvalentine@sachr.org Ext. 1029

Kenneth Van Brackle Maintenance kvanbrackle@sachr.org

Wanda Velez Social Worker wvelez@sachr.org

Kaity Yim Licensed Acupuncturist kyim@sachr.org Ext. 1031

Peer Dispensed Syringe Exchange (PDSE)

Brent Latino Team Member blatino@sachr.org

Jason Sharp Team Member jsharp@sachr.org

Syringe Outreach Response Team (SORT)

José Martinez SORT Team Member jmartinez@sachr.org

Robert Gillard SORT Team Member rgillard@sachr.org

SORT stands for Syringe Outreach Response Team, and is dedicated to cleaning up and safely disposing of used syringes in the South Bronx. They are also available to spread information about health and harm reduction resources. The team is pictured here with our Founder and CEO Joyce A. Rivera.