Our dedicated staff and board include a diverse group of experts in the field of harm reduction.

Joyce Rivera 
Founder and Chief Executive Officer 
jrivera@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 1001

A National Science Foundation Fellow from 1981 to 1984, Joyce has over 35 years of experience working in program development and social services delivery. As a consultant and grant writer, her expertise in HIV prevention and harm reduction has made her a local and national leader in the field of AIDS and drugs.

She is a founding member of the National Harm Reduction Coalition (HRC), the North American Syringe Exchange Network (NASEN), and the Harm Reduction Care Network of New York (HRCNNY). Joyce frequently presents and conducts training on drug policy, harm reduction, women, communities of color, and social justice. She has chaired the boards of HRCNNY and the Latino Commission on AIDS. Joyce holds a bachelor of science degree in health administration with a specialization in healthcare planning and a master’s in comparative political science. She is also ABD at the Public Policy program at City University of New York.

Bart Majoor 
Deputy and Clinical Director 
bmajoor@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 1002

A clinical psychologist and psychotherapist, Bart Majoor brings more than 30 years of experience in the field of harm reduction, drug treatment and HIV prevention in the Netherlands, serving as the Director of the Department of Methodology and Training of the National Institute on Alcohol and Drugs.

 Since 1995, he has served in the US as Deputy & Clinical Director of SACHR. As a consultant and trainer for several organizations in Europe and the United States, he shares his expertise in a wide range of subjects, including drug policy and AIDS, worker burnout, and harm reduction as drug treatment modality. Bart served as an appointed member on the NYC & NYS Prevention Planning Groups, where he chaired the organization’s Substance Use Committees.

Click or tap the toggles below for more information:

Our Board

Fr. Luis Barrios, Ph.D., FACFEI Chair lbarrios@jjay.cuny.edu

Michael T. Baldwin, Esq. Treasurer mtbaldwin@gmail.com

Joyce Rivera Ex Officio jrivera@sachr.org

Hector Diaz Member hdiaz@acacianetwork.org

Full Staff Directory

Alvaro Arias Chief Financial Officer aarias@sachr.org Ext. 1003

James Ayala Maintenance jayala@sachr.org Ext. 1061

Ryan Burns, PDSE, Ext. 1026rburns@sachr.org

Ric Curtis Evaluator rcurtis@sachr.org

Elizabeth Diaz, Agency Driver, ediaz@sachr.org

Anaisa Garcia SAP/Nalaxone Coordinator agarcia@sachr.org Ext. 1016

Robert Gillard PDSE rgillard@sachr.org Ext. 1015

Michael Gilliard, SORT Team Member mgilliard@sachr.org

Leticia Gonzalez, Office Manager, lgonzalez@sachr.org Ext. 1005

Nickoletta Katsigiannis Director of Operations nkatsigiannis@sachr.org Ext. 1004

Dina Karieh Co-Director of Programs dkharieh@sachr.org Ext. 1021

Brent Latino Harm Reduction Specialist blatino@sachr.org Ext. 1013

Bill Mathews, PA Physician Assistantbmathews@sachr.org Ext. 1070

Kyla Medina Co-Program Service Manager kmedina@sachr.org Ext. 1014

Krystal Montalvo Co-Director of Programs kmontalvo@sachr.org Ext. 1019

Jerry Otero, MA Drug User Health Hub Coordinator jotero@sachr.org Ext. 1015

Lipi Roy, MD/MPH Consultant MD lroy@sachr.org Ext. 1034

Ruben Rivera SACHR peer rrivera@sachr.org Ext. 1033

Josue Rodriguez, Data Quality Coordinator, jrodriguez@sachr.org Ext. 1008

Raul Torres, Kitchen Cook rtorres@sachr.org

Anamarie Toscano Kitchen Assistant atoscano@sachr.org Ext. 1035

Daisy Valentine Co-Program Service Manager dvalentine@sachr.org Ext. 1029

Kenneth Van Brackle Maintenance kvanbrackle@sachr.org Ext.1062

Wanda Velez, MSW Social Worker/Behavioral Health Specialist wvelez@sachr.org Ext. 1028

Peer Dispensed Syringe Exchange (PDSE)

Rob Gillard PDSE Rgillard@sachr.org 

Ryan Burns, PDSE, Ext. 1026

Syringe Outreach Response Team (SORT)

Michael Gilliard, SORT Team Member, mgilliard@sachr.org

SORT stands for Syringe Outreach Response Team, and is dedicated to cleaning up and safely disposing of used syringes in the South Bronx. They are also available to spread information about health and harm reduction resources. The team is pictured here with our Founder and CEO Joyce A. Rivera.