Our dedicated staff and board include a diverse group of experts in the field of harm reduction.

Joyce Rivera 
Founder and Chief Executive Officer 
jrivera@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 101

A National Science Foundation Fellow from 1981 to 1984, Joyce has over 35 years of experience working in program development and social services delivery. As a consultant and grant writer, her expertise in HIV prevention and harm reduction has made her a local and national leader in the field of AIDS and drugs.

She is a founding member of the National Harm Reduction Coalition (HRC), the North American Syringe Exchange Network (NASEN), and the Harm Reduction Care Network of New York (HRCNNY). Joyce frequently presents and conducts training on drug policy, harm reduction, women, communities of color, and social justice. She has chaired the boards of HRCNNY and the Latino Commission on AIDS. Joyce holds a bachelor of science degree in health administration with a specialization in healthcare planning and a master’s in comparative political science. She is also ABD at the Public Policy program at City University of New York.

Bart Majoor 
Deputy and Clinical Director 
bmajoor@sachr.org  (718) 585 – 5544 Ext. 102

A clinical psychologist and psychotherapist, Bart Majoor brings more than 30 years of experience in the field of harm reduction, drug treatment and HIV prevention in the Netherlands, serving as the Director of the Department of Methodology and Training of the National Institute on Alcohol and Drugs.

 Since 1995, he has served in the US as Deputy & Clinical Director of SACHR. As a consultant and trainer for several organizations in Europe and the United States, he shares his expertise in a wide range of subjects, including drug policy and AIDS, worker burnout, and harm reduction as drug treatment modality. Bart served as an appointed member on the NYC & NYS Prevention Planning Groups, where he chaired the organization’s Substance Use Committees.

Click or tap the toggles below for more information:

Our Board

Raul Russi Secretary rrussi@acacianetwork.org

Fr. Luis Barrios, Ph.D., FACFEI Chair lbarrios@jjay.cuny.edu

Jonathan Giftos, MD Member giftos@gmail.com

Michael T. Baldwin, Esq. Treasurer mtbaldwin@gmail.com

Joyce Rivera Ex Officio jrivera@sachr.org

Hector Diaz Member hdiaz@acacianetwork.org

Full Staff Directory

Vanessa Amaro Executive Assistant vamaro@sachr.org Ext. 133

Alvaro Arias Chief Financial Officer aarias@sachr.org Ext. 104

Van Asher HRS/SAP Program Manager vasher@sachr.org Ext. 105

Walter Bosque Acupunturist wbosque@sachr.org Ext. 115

Lourdes Correa CHOW lcorrea@sachr.org

Ric Curtis, PhD Evaluation Consultant (CADI)rcurtis@sachr.org Ext. 104

Martin DeGeorge SORT Team Member mdegeorge@sachr.org

Luz DeValle PDSE Team Member ldevalle@sachr.org

Angelica Diaz HRS Specialist adiaz@sachr.org Ext. 111

Maximilian Eyle Digital Media Consultant meyle@sachr.org

Stephanie FergusonData Entry Clerk sferguson@sachr.org Ext. 110

Anaisa Garcia Front Desk Reception agarcia@sachr.org Ext. 109

Francisco Gonzalez CADI Manager fgonzalez@sachr.org

Chariee Ice HRS Case Manager cice@sachr.org Ext. 121

Anna LoschiavoData Entry Clerk aloschiavo@sachr.org Ext. 110

Kyla Medina SORT Coordinator kmedina@sachr.org

Dayonel Mejia IT Consultant dmejia@dnfsolutions.com

Angie Milan-Cruz SEP Window/HCV Navigator amilan-cruz@sachr.orgExt. 150

Krystal Montalvo WSU Manager kmontalvo@sachr.org Ext. 151

Maria Nogueira HRS Specialist mnogueira@sachr.orgExt. 119

Jerry Otero, MA YIDU Program Coordinator jotero@sachr.orgExt. 112

Carmen Pagan WSU Program Peer cpagan@sachr.org Ext. 108

Yilania Jerez Office Manager yjerez@sachr.org Ext. 124

Rebecca Peeler The Sanctuary/Acupuncture/Massage Therapy rpeeler@sachr.org Ext. 115

Nando Pinto Ryan White Program Manager npinto@sachr.org Ext. 117

John C. Rivera Syringe Access Program/Naloxone Program jcrivera@sachr.org Ext. 103

Ruben Rivera Bathroom Monitor/Maintenance Ext. 131

Radhika Sahai HIV Testing & Case Manager rsahai@sachr.org Ext. 100

Deanna Staudt Bathroom Monitor dstaudt@sachr.org Ext. 131

Abigail Strubel Behavioral Health LCSW astrubel@sachr.orgExt. 106

Anamarie Toscano Kitchen Assistant atoscano@sachr.org

Daisy Valentine RW Care Coordinator dvalentine@sachr.orgExt. 122

Johnny Velazco Bathroom Monitor/Maintenancejvelazco@sachr.org Ext. 131

Kaity Yim Licensed Acupuncturist kyim@sachr.org Ext. 115

Peer Dispensed Syringe Exchange (PDSE)

Luz DeValle Team Member ldevalle@sachr.org

Victor Gomez Team Member vgomez@sachr.org

Syringe Outreach Response Team (SORT)

Martin “Ari” DeGeorge Team Member mdegeorge@sachr.org

Deanna Staudt Team Member dstaudt@sachr.org

José Martinez Team Member

Robert Gilliard Team Member

SORT stands for Syringe Outreach Response Team, and is dedicated to cleaning up and safely disposing of used syringes in the South Bronx. They are also available to spread information about health and harm reduction resources. The team is pictured here with our Founder and CEO Joyce A. Rivera.